Posted by: downtothesea | December 17, 2008

Friends, photos, and family.

The Crown Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland, 1854.

The Crown Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland, 1854.

Where the Crown Hotel once stood, 2008.  Photo by the outstanding R. L. Gardner.

Where the Crown Hotel once stood, 2008. Photo by the outstanding R. L. Gardner.

I have wonderful friends, friends I consider my family.  R. is one of those precious individuals.

Knowing my obsession with interest in genealogy, she was an absolute superstar and thought to seek out this spot for me on the corner of Prince’s Street and West Register Street while visiting Edinburgh–the former site of my family’s (the Millers) hotel, the Crown (torn down in 1923).  The interesting photographic study in change and continuity above is entirely thanks to her.

R.:  you’re an absolute diamond, darling.  Thank you so much.

Responses

  1. I’ve finally got your blog on my ‘blogs I’m following’ list and have been catching up on the posts I missed.

    You’re more than welcome darling, and thank you for mentioning that the hotel was torn down in the 1920′s, I was puzzling as to the differences in architecture. The chimneys a bit further down the street look very much the same though.

    If you come across any other sites of interest in the city centre, I may well be back up there in April and will do my best to track them down!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

