Posted by: downtothesea | January 5, 2009

Resolving to be more resolute.

I have been inspired by the topic of the 63rd Carnival of Genealogy, which asks what a genealogist’s New Year’s resolutions might be–and inspiration is a welcome though lacking attribute in my wild get-it-done-without-thought-or-pleasure life right now.

So here are mine.

1)  Slooooooow down with the research.  This is so hard for me, because I get all caught up in the fun of making connections and thus don’t pay attention to what I’ve already learned.  Slowing down also includes reading slowly and making notes.  Which brings me to my next resolution…

2)  Write stuff down.  Lots of stuff.  Stuff I don’t even think I’ll need.  To accomplish this I have purchased a wire-bound notebook and I’ve already begun scrawling copious notes in it, along with further questions that pop into my head during the course of my daily research.  This brings me to my third resolution…

3)  Refer to my notes instead of trying to remember everything.  I have a bad habit of doing this, and of course it leads to dumb, time-wasting mistakes. 

4)  My fourth resolution shoves me right out of my nice warm comfort zone:  I resolve to break the death grip the internet has on me and visit both my local Family History Centre and the City Clerk’s office office of Niagara Falls, New York.  This will be great fun when the weather gets a little more reasonable (which around here is…oh…May), because my husband has been bitten by the genealogy bug as well, and we really enjoy going on “outings” together.  Preferably free outings.  We are a simple folk.

5)  Make more “life event” timelines for my ancestors.  I made three of these yesterday and I’m already beginning to see patterns and connections I’ve missed thus far.  Plus, at the end of the day I had something concrete to show for my work.  I can’t recommend the exercise of personal timelines enough.

6)  Cite, cite, cite, cite.  And then when I’m done with that, cite some more, following that up with several further citations.

Ta-dah!  2009 is going to be a watershed year–I can feel it!

Responses

  1. Amy,
    I’ve been enjoying your spontaneous genealogy… There are so many things I could comment on (i.e. so much I identify with!), but I wondered if you might be so generous as to share one of these “life event” timelines you mention with us? It’s not something I have tried – and I’m not sure how successful I might be with it.
    All the best for the blogs ahead :-)

    • Hi Bronwyn,
      I’ll happily get a timeline up here, just as soon as I clean one up and translate it out of “Amy-speak” :) I’ll also put down a reference for the template I’m following (not my own–I’m not nearly that clever!).

      Thanks a million for reading and commenting here!
      -Amy

  2. Hello Amy
    You have some great resolutions. I hope 2009 is a great year for you.

    I don’t see a contact address for you. I would like to mention and show screen shots of your blog in an upcoming presentation. I want to highlight Canadian genealogy related bloggers.

    Janet jiles AT bmts DOT com

    • Hi Janet,
      Just dashed off an email to you. Thanks for stopping by!
      -Amy


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

