Posted by: downtothesea | January 10, 2009

Migraine-induced library adventures.

Yesterday, I had a migraine and took a walk down to my pharmacy to pick up a drug refill.  Since cold soothes my aching head, it was the perfect walk for me: about a mile and a quarter, temperature at about -7 C.  Once I got my ‘script, I popped a pill and decided to head indoors for it to take effect.  I was near the Toronto Reference Library, which I’d never explored, so in I went.

Oh my goodness.  Where have I been for four years?

Almost the entirety of the massive fourth floor is taken up by its huge genealogical collections.  I wandered around aimlessly for a while, just getting a lay of the land and hoping no one would mistake me for a homeless person and toss me out. 

Have a gander at their awesome holdings:

Biographical Sources and Indices

Lists of names

Research tools (Griffith’s Valuation!  Be still my beating heart!)

Overwhelmed, I finally sat down with a gazetteer for Hungary and puzzled out the RC parish to which the Tanzers and Rauchs belonged in the town of Stoosz, Hungary, which is now called “Stos” and is in the Slovak Republic today (the parish was Rosznyo, for those of you keeping track).

I also discovered I could order FHL mircofilms at the Toronto Reference Library!  Because I’m a nerd and I’ve taken to carrying my new genealogy notebook around with me, I actually had film number references on my person, and so I ordered some microfilms.  Productive me!

By then the pills had kicked in and I thought I should toddle home and salvage some of the day, so I bid a fond farewell to my new favorite place in Toronto–until we meet again, dear fourth floor of genealogy at the Toronto Reference Library!

Responses

  1. Hi ~
    I love your stories! I’ve just discovered your blog today and it’s quickly becoming one of my favorites.

    I am not new to genealogy, but brand new to blogs and I love to look around for ideas. I like the way yours is set up and the banner is beautiful.

    Your story today is really what caught my eye. One of my goals in the next few years is to visit Toronto. I, too, have Scottish ancestors who came to Canada but mine mostly moved down to the US. However, while they were in Canada, Toronto is where I have found most of them.

    The library sounds a little bit like my idea of heaven, so that has just given me added incentive to move that Toronto visit higher on my list!

  2. Hi Diana!

    Thank you so much for all your lovely comments!

    About Toronto: I really had no idea what a wealth of genealogical and historical information the city reference library holds–it’s doubly ironic, as Toronto has a bad reputation for tearing down lovely old buildings and plonking massive ugly high-rises in their place.

    If you do come up to do research, you won’t be disappointed, I guarantee!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

