Posted by: downtothesea | January 1, 2010

The Prodigal Daughter Returns (again)

Ugh.

I can’t believe how long I’ve let this poor blog be idle.  Is it too much of a cliche to delare its resurrection one of my New Year’s resolutions?  Believe it or not, I’ve made some pretty incredible genealogical discoveries since…erm…*whispers* August…and they deserve their moments in the sun.  Most have served in their own ways to remind me that my ancestors were real people, with real problems, real emotions, real desires.  This year I will work hard to keep from romanticizing my ancestors, as difficult as that may be.

I have also had a few instances play out in which following careless assumptions about a family member’s vital stats led me so far off the correct track I had to scrap several weeks of (bunk) research.  That’s a humbling experience, I can tell you.

But there were also triumphs.  I have gleefully connected with “long-lost” cousins in Australia, Scotland, and England.  It seems this lonely genealogist is alone no more!  Bless the internet in all of its social networking splendor.

The greatest triumph, however, came just this past Wednesday, when a box of old family photographs surfaced at my grandfather’s apartment during our Christmas visit to him…a box my late grandmother had been positive she’d lost in their move from their house to the assisted living community some four years ago.  Also discovered:  my great grandmother Nellie Gavin’s silk wedding blouse from her 1902 wedding to my great-grandfather, William Miller.  How amazing is that?  Oh yes, I am writing very calmly about it now, but I admit with more than a little blush to my cheek that there were indeed a few tears when this great discovery came to light.

And now off to catch up on all the genealogy RSS feeds I have been neglecting…

Responses

  1. I am so, so glad that you are posting again – this is like a New Year’s present! Believe it or not, I was just wishing aloud on my blog that you were still posting. Glad to hear that your time off has included some good genealogy events. Welcome back!

    • Oh Greta, what a kind thing to say! I’m very excited to be back in the geneablogging swing of things at long last.

  2. That is fantastic! No shame in crying over those kinds of discoveries!

    P. S. Happy New Year! I spent it alone, too, alas. Even Skype let me down. Or rather, my family didn’t connect with Skype.

    • Hi Emily,

      Happy New Year to you, too! May it be filled with many genealogical “happy dances!”

  3. What a great finish to the year you had! Glad you are back on-line here again.

    • Thanks, Diane! I really am feeling very jazzed about beginning to blog again. For me, wintertime is the perfect time to write and reflect.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

