Posted by: downtothesea | January 2, 2010

SNGF: Best Genealogy Moment of 2009

It’s Saturday night, we are in the throes of a blizzard here in Maine, and my star of a spouse is busily scanning old family photos for me in the other room.  I have half a bottle of New Year’s champagne left and the ancient radiator on full blast.  What’s a girl to do?  Why, Saturday Night Genealogy Fun with our host Randy Seaver, of course!

Randy’s prompt for this week: “What was your best Genealogy Moment during 2009?”

This is tough, because there were so many delectable moments.  2009 was my very first “in the field” year, genealogically speaking.  I finally felt as if I had amassed enough information to make worthwhile trips to Niagara Falls to seek out cemeteries, City Hall, and the knock-out local history collections at the Public Library. 

In light of that, I have to say my best Genealogy Moment for 2009 was locating the neglected cemetery in which my Irish ancestors were laid to rest, and simultaneously discovering the counties of their birth on account of the inscriptions on their tombstones (the Gavins from Clare and the McCabes from Sligo).  I blogged (rather giddily) about my discoveries here and here.  I now felt I had a real, tangible connection to Ireland.  Though I’d always been taught to take pride in my Irish heritage, it was somehow more “legitimate” now–I knew my ancestral counties! 

Furthermore, several months on, knowing where my ancestors are buried has given me a tremendous sense of peace.  I know where they are, I know where to find them.  I can literally sit beside them and be with them in a very real way.  For that, I consider myself tremendously blessed.  Thanks, 2009!

The church of my Irish ancestors: St. Mary's (Our Lady of the Cataract), Niagara Falls, NY

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

