Posted by: downtothesea | January 13, 2010

Ooh! Shiny! New computer!

Warning: this post contains very little actual genealogical content.

So, I broke down and bought a new laptop.  I’m giving my trusty HP Pavillion ze4800 to my mother.  It’s just too slow for what I’m doing, and seeing the Blue Screen of Death three times in one year while doing something as innocuous as using two applications and the internet simultaneously was enough to scare me into shelling out for a new machine.

So now I am the proud owner of a blazingly fast and awesome HP Pavillion Dv5 1234us…or something like that.  It’s about 9 months old, which I know makes it practically geriatric for some of my friends, but it was wicked on sale ($450!) and it has all the bells and whistles I want.  Very smexy machine, methinks.  Also, Windows 7 is pretty fun.  Kinda Mac-ish, with all its easy-read icons and stuff, but fun just the same.

So that’s what I’ve been up to the last couple days…transferring files, bookmarks, GEDcoms, my iTunes library (still in process)…messing around with the RootsMagic 4.0 upgrade I treated myself to, and generally trying to find my way around the new ‘puter (whose name is Jack, for those of you who understand the importance of naming your stuff…for the record, my car’s name is Dante).

So far the biggest bugbear has been deciding how to view my blog feeds from Firefox.  I feel like it was so much easier to handle with IE.  I settled on using Google Reader, and that’s been satisfactory so far.  Far from ideal, but it’s the best solution yet.

Off again to mess around with some more GEDcoms.

Responses

  1. Way cool! I’m longing for a new laptop as well. I am so jealous

    • Check out Staples…I was told by an employee there that the stores all have a stash of computers out in their back rooms that are clearance machines they’re dying to move–you know, the computers that dare to be more than five months old! ;)

  2. Have fun!

    I too have a new laptop (named Amy) and a new netbook too. (Her name is Minnie.) But Maggie, my old laptop, is still ok although a bit slow and tired, so I’m dividing up some activities between the three. (Amy was my Na, my maternal grandmother, and Minnie and Maggie were her sisters, my great aunties.)

    • Hee! My kitty’s name is Maggie and I’m Amy…I approve of your choice of names ;)

  3. Thanks! There was a fun exchange about computer naming recently on the Tri-State Genealogical Society of Evansville, Indiana “TSGS Cruiser” blog.

  4. How funny, I just got a new laptop as well, since the 5 year old hand-me-down Vaio was beginning to creak. A lot. The HP Pavilions looked nice, but too big for what I wanted. How do you like the touchpad, that was flagged as a potential dislike in some reviews. They looked quite shiny. :)

    In the end I settled on the Samsung x420. Aside from one blip with a Blue Screen of WTF?!?, thankfully not Death, it’s been very good and I’m enjoying Windows7, more so because I’ve been able to skip Vista entirely!

    • Hi darling!

      I love my new HP! It’s not too much larger than what I had before…14″ widescreen. Big enough so that I don’t go blind reading old census records, etc. The trackpad is kind of annoying in that it gets fingerprints on it wicked easily. If you aren’t as OCD about me in regards to things like that, it’s a nice reactive trackpad.

      I managed to skip Vista as well–went right from XP to Windows 7. It’s rad, eh?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

