Posted by: downtothesea | January 21, 2009

Iron horse inquiries.

I have had precious little time to devote to genealogy this week (my poor husband injured his back), but I did uncover one yummy nugget I’m still trying to unpuzzle.

According to Waite’s directory of the city of Niagara Falls, New York, from 1892-1900 my great-great grandfather George Miller worked for the Grand Trunk Railroad as a freight clerk.  He passed away April 1, 1900.

Interestingly, when he settled in Clifton, Ontario, Canada, (later Niagara Falls, Canada) having immigrated from Scotland in 1873-1874, he also worked for the railroad as a clerk (this information was provided by the civil registers of his children’s births).  It seems he spent his entire career in North America as a railroad employee.

What I’m trying to figure out now is whether he worked for the same railway company both in Canada and in the States.  I think the Grand Trunk R. R. operated in both Niagara Falls Canada as well as across the river in Niagara Falls, N. Y., but I’m not entirely sure based on the little internet research I did on the subject.  It’s fairly tricky to figure out, and I think I need to sit down with some railroad history books and suss it all out.

So.  Railroads will have to become my new obsession, I think.

The Great Western Railroad, which would eventually merge with the Grand Trunk Railroad in 1882.

The Great Western Railroad, which would eventually merge with the Grand Trunk Railroad in 1882.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

