Posted by: downtothesea | February 10, 2009

Ancestry.com and database weirdness.

Sometimes I get very frustrated with Ancestry.com, despite all the wonderful information I have gleaned from them this past year.  This post as a bit of an airing of two main complaints;  I shall try to be kind.

First:  either my computer is infected by a huge virus (unlikely) or the Ancestry.com site is ridiculously slow and has been for months.  When I have to wait 1-2 minutes for every single page to load (largely because of the adverts?  I don’t know…I’m no expert), it seriously decreases the fun factor and I’ve been logging off the site in frustration more times than I care to count over the last few weeks.  I have a limited amount of time during the day in which I can work on genealogy, and it’s frustrating to spend a large part of it waiting for a website (whose subscription I pay) to load. 

Second:  I can find my great-grandfather Gustav Hjalmar Eriksson’s immigration record on the Ellis Island website, but when I enter the exact same information into the immigration database on Ancestry.com, I get nothing.  Even if I search by year, month, and day Ancestry.com tells me the ship, the SS Drottningholm wasn’t even there (though the manifest from Ellis Island clearly shows it was)!  I may be forced to order a copy of the records from Ellis Island which charges $40 for a 11″ by 14″ copy of the ship’s manifest.  Argh!

On the upside, I did discover my great-grandfather’s place of birth is Grythyttan, Hallefors, Sweden.  Now, if I could only save a copy of the record…

The church at Grythyttan, Hallefors, Sweden.

The church at Grythyttan, Hallefors, Sweden.

Photo by Kjell Eson.

Responses

  1. How about when you do a search, get your results, start viewing a few of them and then try to return to the first results screen and get the infamous “No Records Found” screen, as if you had started all over with different information. This frustrates me to no end!!! I agree with you that Ancestry has been very slow and I also believe that some of it is the very animated ads that must load before you can do anything on the page. Many a night I sit her Uggghing out loud because it’s very annoying!

    • Oh, I’m so glad I’m not the only one who feels this way! I feel a little like I’m biting the hand that feeds me when I say anything not so nice about Ancestry, but c’mon…we’re paying for it to run efficiently!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

