Posted by: downtothesea | January 3, 2010

Genealogical Resolutions for 2010

I am a disaster at keeping up with New Year’s Resolutions.  Like everyone else, everywhere.  I have already begun my resolution to lose my ten “oh my God how did I gain that much in the last year?!?” pounds…and we’ll see how long that enthusiasm lasts.

I do think it’s worthwhile to set down a few genealogical resolutions, though, and to check back at my progress every once in a while.  Not too many, but enough to accomplish and enough to move me ahead in my research–or at least to secure the research that I’ve already accomplished.

Resolution 1):  I will purchase a scanner and scan in all the newly discovered photos from my grandfather’s closet

Resolution 2):  I will purchase some sort of external hard drive on which I can back up all of my genealogical information

Resolution 3):  I will preserve my newly-acquired stash of family textiles

Resolution 4):  I will stop researching for as long as it takes me to enter what I already have into RootsMagic (yeah right!)

Resolution 5):  I will make one trip to Niagara Falls to find land deeds and naturalization records.

There.  That felt better.

Postcard image from Northern Neck of Virginia Postcards Page


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

